“Safe School” Disaster Risk Mitigation Platform Meeting Held

Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative for South Eastern Europe (DPPI-SEE) gathered on November 17-18 under sponsorship of Republic of Türkiye Prime Ministry Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (AFAD) in order to contribute to 2016 Disaster Management Training Program. The symposium entitled “Safe School” Disaster Risk Mitigation Discussion Platform was organized to ensure mutual exchange of information and selection of best practices in the countries, and the following issues were handled:

– to develop a better understanding within the meaning of mitigation of disaster risks under “Safe School”,

– role and interoperability of education and teaching authorities and disaster and emergency management institutions of the countries in connection with disas-ter risk mitigation activities in a safe environment (school).

The events also included “School Disaster Preparedness and Retrofitting Works” performed by the Ministry of National Education and “ISMEP Project” and works relating to “Use of Seismic Isolators in Buildings” performed by IPCU.

Deputy Director Fikret Azılı and Senior Civil Engineer Yunus Uçar from IPCU participated in the symposium where works performed under ISMEP project received great attention. As a result of efforts intended for preparedness against a possible earthquake expected to hit Istanbul, 1059 school buildings were retrofitted or reconstructed. These works and disaster emergency plans performed in schools ensured Turkey’s being shown as the “Leader Country” in the School Safety Program implemented by the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR).

What is DDPI?

Disaster Preparedness and Prevention Initiative (DPPI) for the South Eastern Europe, established in 2000 for disaster preparedness, prevention and a harmonious regional strategy in the South Eastern Europe, lays a basis for its member countries (Albania, Bulgaria, Bosnia & Herzegovina, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Moldova, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, and Turkey) to create a common framework by organizing programs relating to measures and damage reduction activities against natural and human related disasters on the basis of Hyogo Framework for Action (HFA) and Sendai Disaster Risk Reduction (SFDRR) targets. Under the DPPI, the member countries organize miscellaneous disaster-related events every year to contribute to their countries.